Best mic for less-than perfect recording environment. Dynamic? Condenser?

braltmann

I'll start by saying I'm a total noob and have yet to buy my first mic. But I like talking about this stuff and I'm sure you all do too.

I've been researching for over a month now on the right kind of mike and gear to get. I just ordered in a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 which I think is a pretty good choice. Correct me if I'm wrong but it looks to be one of the only USB 2.0 interfaces out there. Plus I'm confident the preamps will rock for the price. But I digress.

My query is how big a deal is it whether I get a condenser or dynamic mic. Obviously my setup is very basic. I'll be recording multiple instruments seperately to build up songs track by track, but my main focus is on getting a nice vocal sound. When I say "nice", I'm a female vocalist with a reasonably broad range, and mostly I just want a sound that's warm and clear. Granted I'm not going to get a "pro" sound with a sub $200 mic, I just want to make sure I'm doing the right thing for my recording environment, which I haven't treated at all and don't intend to (sharehouse, rented). So would I be better off going with something like the Shure SM57 or SM58, or a condenser like the MXL 990, or a similarly priced mic?

It seems like every time I decide on a mic, I'll read about another one and change my mind. I wish I had the money to throw around and try different mics but I don't. Also most of the music stores around here dont have a huge range of mics to try, you have to order them in

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I'd like to hear your opinions. I'm just a silly noob girl afterall.

That was a joke.

Brooke.

Ok.

Plenty of USB 2.0 audio interfaces around but the Scarlet is the newest kid on the block and also appears to be a really good unit. Great reviews on youtube. You are off to a good start.

Incidently, USB 1.0 would work just as good for only two inputs. ;o)