Votes: 4 22.2%
  • Urine

Votes: 1 5.6%
  • Don't ever clean cymbals...ever!

Votes: 6 33.3%

• Total voters

scrubs

Not of sound mind
I got a used cymbal (k custom session crash) on e-bay and, while I like the tone, it's a little darker than sound samples I had heard. It is also quite tarnished, so I'm thinking about cleaning it in hopes of brightening the sound a little. However, I don't want to remove any of the lettering, which seems to be a complaint about commercially available cleaners/polishes. What do you like? Should I just polish the areas around the lettering? Any tips/tricks for cleaning are appreciated.

Poll to follow.

I know this probably doesn't help.. I used to work at Guitar Center and we just opened a bottle of cleaner that they sold there and cleaned the new cymbals with it. No lettering fade or anything and they shined up real good. Gimme a few minutes and I'll try to look on the website and find what it was...

Okay I checked it out, I'm pretty sure it was sabian cymbal polish.... I dunno if it's like a hate crime to use sabian polish on zildjian cymbals but I think it will clean your K custom up good. I don't think you will need to worry about cleaning around the letters or anything like that... Just don't use brasso cuz that will for sure strip the badges off of it..

BTW I noticed you put dish soap as one of your choices. Has anyone tried that? It seems like it would be less abrasive, but would leave streaks...it WOULD dissolve the oils that cause it to turn green though....

sirslurpee said:
BTW I noticed you put dish soap as one of your choices. Has anyone tried that? It seems like it would be less abrasive, but would leave streaks...it WOULD dissolve the oils that cause it to turn green though....

I had seen it mentioned on a couple of drum forums. I'd use Cascade with "sheeting action" to avoid the streaks. :p

FYI...