Best affordable studio mic

Jazzman1949

I am a performing-recording musician of over 40 years. I have been continually improving my home studio equipment as I can afford to do so.

QUESTION: what would be your studio microphone of choice, and if you can, give a ballpark price.

I need to invest in a fairly decent condenser mic, not just for vocals, but for wind instruments (saxophones, clarinet).

Up to this point, I've been able to work with close-pattern stage mics for vocals and doing a lot of direct-signal with guitar, keyboard, bass, etc.

I need to invest in a good mic for wind instruments.

What's your choice?

I have an AKG Perception 200 that's kind of nice. Used was about 100.00 If all else fails, this question has been asked once or twice so you can use the search button on the site. It might be hard to find exactly what your looking for at first but you will find it.

I need to invest in a fairly decent condenser mic, not just for vocals, but for wind instruments (saxophones, clarinet).
That's okay, because I barely ever put a condenser in front of a vocalist anyway. Or a sax for that matter (unless it's from a bit of a distance and I'm going for that "alleyway window" sound).

In any case - Knowing your approximate budget would be a big help... I could name several mics for a few hundred $$$ up to several thousand. And the ones for brass & sax probably aren't going to be the ones I'd use for woodwinds & flute...

A decent preamp is going to be as important as the mic. I'm assuming you already have some sort of reasonable converter and interface...?

Cascade for example (because there's probably not a better bang for the buck anywhere)...