behringer T1952 tube copressor/ limiter

thomaswomas

i know that most people would stay clear of behringer products but i wanna know if anyone has any positive reviews of this product. i'm basically looking for something cheap which will warm up my recordings until i can upgrade to a top quality item (which won't be for a long time).

if anyone has any experience with this product i'd love to know,

thanks

What do your tracks sound like that makes you want to warm them up? What are you recording with now?

The behringer thing is a solid state compressor that piles on some starved plate tube distortion, and it hardly sounds warm at all. It's a bit like a crummy exciter. I've fell for all that crappy "tube" stuff in the past, and usually it just makes your tracks sound noisy or brittle. In the case of this unit, just brittle.

RNC will provide that extra "something" you seek. Anything less will disappoint. Or maybe one of those Joe Meek things, I have no experience there but someone else may pipe in. (I didn't care for the Meek sound, but LOTS of folks love it, {that's why we don't all drive Chevy's})

Hi there, I'm new.

I've been using one of those Behringer units for a year or so now on home recordings of my own material.
IMHO you'll be disappointed in the Behringer unit if you're looking to add "analogue warmth" or simulated tape saturation.
The gate function seems OK, compression seems OK aswell but it's far from transparent.
Honestly, I bought the thing for gating unwanted room noise (which it seems to do reasonably well) and for light vocal compression (which it seems to do reasonably well also).
I'm a little embarrased to admit but it looks good in the rack too :o

Here in Australia, it cost something under 250 bucks which was a factor aswell.
In the short term, I'll be buying an FMR RNC though.

Cheers
Doc
Australia

Warm up / Tape saturator