Behringer C1 - will I regret it!

Whaleblue

I know there are lots of discussions around sub $150/$100 (equates pretty much to pounds in most cases!) mics, but I wonder if I'm going to regret the C1 I have picked up as a new starter to home recording.

Bottom line is I'm happy to pay up to £200 (MXL 2003a (£195), Audio Technica AT2020 (£90) etc etc ??) if it means I won't be wanting something different in 6-12 months.

My understanding is that a condenser is best for what I need - to record acoustic guitar (>90% of use) and vocal (<10% of use). I'm a relative beginner on the guitar and I'm into home recording partly because I'm finding it fun, but largely to get good feedback on how I'm doing. My pride and joy is a beautiful Taylor 512CE :) which is for light strumming and fingerstyle, and a Simon and Patrick SP6 for more full on strumming along to pop/rock.

I'm going to be using a Presonus Audiobox 22VSL and a laptop (Vaio with i5, reasonably recent).

You get what you pay for.
I started out with the C1 and it still gets used occasionally but I quickly wanted to upgrade.
Its a very (bright) mic lots of top end.
You may be better with a matched pair of mxl 603s for recording that taylor (buy secondhand for better value)

The problem with bright mics is they pick up lots of sibbilance (Ssss sounds) and it quickly becomes wearing on the ears on playback.
If i where you I'd do some more research you may get better advice posting in the mic section of the forum.
Just my 2 pence.

also check out the acoustic guitar recording Stickie at the top of the list in the recording techniques part of the forum .

Bottom line is I'm happy to pay up to £200 (MXL 2003a (£195), Audio Technica AT2020 (£90) etc etc ??) if it means I won't be wanting something different in 6-12 months.