Behringer 1622USB & MDX2600 Help??

Stuartd

Hi all,

My current setup but I need some help please;

Behringer X1622USB > Insert Cable > MDX2600 >PC from 1622USB cable

I am going to be live streaming video games so I need good levels going into the PC, I want to be quite close to 0db so that my levels are good. However I am a total noob when it comes to Compressors and I am not sure what I need to set the MDX2600 to. The reason I got it was so that I can raise my voice without clipping in my recording program OBS.

The issue I am having is that the windows mic levels are crazy high at 100% so I turned it down to 82 and now it is close to the full bar but not really going full green, however I feel like it is distorting or messing with my audio still. I want windows to just take my sound without adding its own amplification once I have my levels where I want them to be.

I am confused, say I get my levels exactly right on the hardware, then windows might be adding more amplification and then distorting the sound which is totally not what I want to happen.

Lastly any tips on how I should set up the MDX2600 so that I don't clip when raising my voice but still getting good levels.

Thanks in advance

Regarding the MDX2600.... I just browsed the manual and it appears everything you need to know is within and explained clearly.

Didn't read this, but may be helpful.....
https://gist.github.com/scottburton11/3222152

Why do you need a 16 input mixer for one mic? :rolleyes:

I will be using more than one mic in the future but this is the lowest model that has inserts to be able to use the compressor.

Thanks for the link I will try the stuff mentioned in there tomorrow, I hear what you are saying with the manual but it's a lot of information to try and absorb and do something with for a beginner.

I am more concerned with Windows at the moment and how I am going to set the input on the mic to not totally undue all the settings on the external hardware.