Beginning Analog Recording

dukedudez

Well, here's some background to my problem. First, I love music. I have cubase and a usb interface, but I'm very new to recording and don't know much about it. Besides that, I want to record with analog. The only problem is, they don't sell analog equipment at guitar center. I'm currently a senior in high school and we have to do a graduation project. I decided to do mine on analog recording and I would love to record a song using all analog equipment. I don't know, however, if this is reasonable or possible. I don't want to spend a ton of money, and I don't know how I could present my recording to them because I want to keep it in analog and not convert it into an mp3 or CD. Any ideas?

This song that you are recording, is it of just you performing all the parts or do you play in a band that is decently rehearsed?

If you're in a band, you could just buy a decent stereo cassette deck, a smaller 8 to 12 channel analog mixer to plug in your microphones and direct boxes to create a decent live mix where the mixer's stereo outputs will feed to the line input of the cassette deck which will record the performance. If you shop carefully through your local Craig's list, you could probably pick up all that gear used for three or four hundred dollars. And if you purchase a double cassette deck, you can make copies in analog of that recording to submit to your school. But they'll also need to be in possession of a cassette deck or cassette Walkman to be able to play that tape. Hopefully a few of the older teachers might still own that gear. If they don't, then you'll have to make use of your USB interface to transfer your cassette's recording into your computer to convert it into a wave file or mp3 which you can then submit to them in whatever digital format they can deal with such as a data CD, a pen drive or just emailing them the file.