Beginner acoustic guitars

matty_boy

I am a teacher, and my school division has some money to put towards some music education. I am in the process of creating a program for almost my whole school (grade 2-9) which I will be teaching. Any recommendations on models of acoustic guitars that are good buys for their playability would be really appreciated. If I want this to happen I have to do all af the pricing (and probably buying) myself.

Thanks in advance fellas.

Matty

for kid beginners, 3/4 nylon strings are something to look at. Easier on the fingers than steel strings.

matty,

This is how I started playing guitar! In grade eight, I had a class of thirty where we all played no name nylon string guitars (I think they had twenty five so ten people shared).

I'm so excited to hear about your project because I wouldn't be the person I am today and certainly not the musician I am had it not been for this class. After failing to learn several instruments through the first seven grades I had given up on learning an instrument until I took this class because my friends were taking it. Lo and behold, twelve years later, I play weekly shows and studied performance in college! I often think about how I would make my first teacher proud....

a couple of rules that I had or aspects of my exp. that I liked:
1. no picks for the first year. learning fingerpicking rapidly accelerated my right hand reliability. (especially for a lefty playing right handed.)
2. common music but not too common. My teacher would transcribe songs for the students who went above and beyond the regular curriculum (which was mostly beatles, eagles, simon and garfunkel, Joni Mitchell). It was a proud day when a fellow student completed her booklet and we got to play G'N'R's Patience and Warrant's Heaven.