Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata - second attempt

Trent Reznor

This is my secondattempt at Beethoven's "Moonlight Sonata", solo piano. I just started learning piano 3 months ago, and basically started learning just to learn this piece. I do welcome any advice to improve it. This is my second attempt at it and I recorded it with two mics and did the best mixing I know how to do, but I'm looking to learn more. So please check it out and tell me what you think. :)

Moonlight Sonata 192kbps

still has the phasing sound. Are you time shifting one mic? or maybe they are just far enough apart to cause that sound.

I would use only one mic for now.

CyanJaguar said:
still has the phasing sound. Are you time shifting one mic? or maybe they are just far enough apart to cause that sound.

I would use only one mic for now.

I'm not hearing any phase. :confused:

I'm using a bit of stereo hall reverb, but mainly only on one low-volume mix track. Do you have a time mark (M:SS) where the phasing is obvious? The mics were about 3 ft apart, both about 10" above the hammers around G2 and G5

true-eurt said:
For only 3 months of lessons, you picked up fast!!
Thanks! but I haven't had any lessons at all. I just self-taught myself, spending around 5-10 minutes a day a few days a week for the last 3 months. I HAD to learn this song. :)

I have to agree that this do not sound like a natural piano at all.

First, if it's an upright, pull it off the wall and angle with (not parallele with the wall).

The piano also seems out of tune.

For 3 months, yes it is very impressive! As a piano teacher, I suggest you work on your dynamics, especially on the arpeggios.

I suggest you post a version with NO FX and only one omni mic.

tenkas said:
I have to agree that this do not sound like a natural piano at all.

First, if it's an upright, pull it off the wall and angle with (not parallele with the wall).

The piano also seems out of tune.