Bass String Discussion

Bass String

• Change Bass strings often

Votes: 7 23.3%
  • Leave Bass strings on for extended period/permanent

Votes: 23 76.7%

• Total voters

In Tune Audio

Alright, I'm a piano guy and technician who's been hacking more and more on guitar and bass. I'm obsessive about changing strings on my acoustic guitar. I love getting a good tone, and liked messing around with different string makes and styles to get different tonnes.

I just bought my second bass, a Yamaha frettless. I quite regularly change the strings on my other bass, but when I picked up my new bass (that I bought used from a buddy) the strings were quite old, and I commented on that. My buddy (guitar player not bass player) said all his bass buddies told him never to change the strings on a bass. That it's better if you don't.

This goes against everything I've ever heard, or experienced in practiced. But as a piano guy I'm not an expert. Any thoughts on this? On a bass is it better to change often, or leave the strings on for an extended period?

Now that I think of it, I'll try starting a poll with this.

I guess that depends on whether or not you like the tone of new strings.
I'm sure you can go longer than you would on a guitar, but I don't know why you would let them go forever.

I say leave them on there because its a BASS guitar. Not only cost efficient, the tone won't change dramatically because the main purpose is BASS. If it does lose any tone it can be fixed with simple e.q., because you want a little treble, little mid, and BASS.

BASS! lol

I have to play bass frequently. IMO you don't have to change strings that often on a bass especially a fretless bass but you do have to change them once in a while due to fret wear. I usually change strings on my bass two to four times a year, depending on how much they are being played.
When I am playing guitar a lot I will change guitar strings one or more times a week.