bass guitar recording techniques?

Spider

hi all , im not at all a bass player , in fact my guitar skills arent right up there either... im a drummer actualy and i was wondering about recording bass guitar. Is it best to mike up the cab or go di?? i dont have a di box just an alesis quadraverb gt and a boss me30 multi effects pedal. What sounds best with bass?? i dont have a bass to try things out on but if i could just get an idea of what sort of effects (if any) people put with bass guitar?

check out the Sans Amp Bass DI Driver. it's a great box designed for Bass. it's well worth the cost.

i record the Bass DI and the Bass DI Driver and combine the two when mixing.

-kp-

I went to guitar satan and plopped $150 down for a squire P. Actually a decent ax. I can run it direct into my mixer. For optimum results, I'll patch it through the 386.

The most efficient and effective way is to get yourself a direct box so you can go XLR direct to mixer. It's quieter than using 1/4", and you can also get a fair bit of distortion even at low levels if your using the 1/4 inch in.

If your going for more elaborate sounds, you can mix in a mic'd amp, but I wouldn't use it alone. If you do add it, it'll work best with a 10 inch speaker. The overtones tend to disperse at varying angles and are harder to capture on a larger speaker.

For most of my own work, I just go direct. But when MCA was picking up the tab, we went all out. We used both a clean direct, and a dirtied up direct, (through a RAT pedal). As well, we mic'd a Ampeg SVT (8x10) with the RAT signal, and mic'd a Trace Elliot 4x10 combo, with the clean signal. It was a great sound, but I'd never spend the time and money myself.
Jeff

Tech 21 Sansamp Bass DI