Bass Button EQ Allowances

rivv3t

I'm just getting into the art of mixing and mastering myself. I use a PC, an old Roland workstation and a pair of Tascam VL-S21 flat-ref monitors which are amazingly accurate for their size and price. Also come with a sub.

I try to get my mixes to sound like I would normally play a song on any commercial system (slight V and added bass). To solve the problem of not having my mix rumble when someone presses the bass button on their stereo I chose to analyze identical clips w/bass boost and w/out. The program (Spectrum Analyzer Pro Lab) then calculates EQ cuts and boosts I can process my mix with to get a "flat" effect.

I tried it with two devices: a boom box and a portable cd player. These were the cuts I came up with and they are surprisingly accurate. The mix still sounds good with the cuts as well.

Cheap Boombox DBB (Dynamic Bass Boost)

20/-2
25/-2
31/-2
40/-2
50/-2
63/-2
80/-2
125/-2
160/-2
200/-2
250/0
315/-1
400/0
500/0
630/1
800/1
1000/1
1250/1
1600/1
2000/1
2500/1
3115/1
4000/2
5000/2
6300/2
8000/2
10000/1
12500/2
16000/2
20000/4

Cheap Walkman BBS (Bass Boost System)

20/-2
25/-2
31/-2
40/-3
50/-2
63/-3
80/-2
125/-3
160/-3
200/-2
250/0
315/0
400/0
500/0
630/2
800/1
1000/1
1250/1
1600/2
2000/1
2500/2
3115/2
4000/1
5000/1
6300/1
8000/0
10000/2
12500/2
16000/1
20000/3

(There also appears to be about a decibel and a half of gain increase with the boosts.)

I use Cool Edit's Parametric EQ (20/25Hz) and Grapic EQ (all the rest) to approximate these changes.

I then add a little soft clipping compression with the Steinberg Compressor and use the Loudness Maximizer to get my levels as hot as I can. With a semi-pro setup and this method I have been able to get at least as good of a mixdown/master as say Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd.