Basic mastering question

dwkman0117

Hello, I am new to this, as you will see by my question...

I starting reading the book - The mixing Engineers handbook, and they refer to setting different recorded material (different instruments) to different levels? example - set 50-80hz a few db's??? I know this is a basic concept, but I am clueless on what they mean and where to set this - any help would be appreciated. I am using Cakewalk Homestudio...

Here is a link to my cover recordings.

http://www.swtestingsolutions.com/music/music_download_page.htm

dwkman0117 said:
...I starting reading the book - The mixing Engineers handbook, and they refer to setting different recorded material (different instruments) to different levels? example - set 50-80hz a few db's???
I've got "The Mixing Engineers Handbook" also - what page are you on so we can understand your context...

kylen said:
I've got "The Mixing Engineers Handbook" also - what page are you on so we can understand your context...

Sorry, I was at a book store 2 nights ago... It was a section where he was discussing the levels or numbers associted with each instruments. Bass drum, snare, guitar one, two... vocals... Sorry I don't have it in front of me.

This might not be exactly what you're talking about. But, if you scroll down to where he starts talking about "KIK" and then "Snare", etc...He gives you some starting guidelines. But, as always, you have to use your ears and not trust what works in paper all the time.
http://www.tweakheadz.com/perfect_mix.html

RAMI said:
I'm waiting for the movie.
Aw, c'mon Rami, you know the book is almost always better than the movie! :D