Audio Interface suggestion

daemondan

I'm looking to start recording some vocals and spoken word at home. I have a shure beta 58a that I used to use when I was in a band, but I'm a little new to the nuts and bolts of audio. I'm looking for an audio interface with a good gain for the Shure and don't really know exactly what I'm looking for, even after looking around these threads. A bit of help and advice would go a long way

I'm looking to start recording some vocals and spoken word at home. I have a shure beta 58a that I used to use when I was in a band, but I'm a little new to the nuts and bolts of audio. I'm looking for an audio interface with a good gain for the Shure and don't really know exactly what I'm looking for, even after looking around these threads. A bit of help and advice would go a long way

Hi D! You really don't need to worry much about the various AI models, past about $100 they are all pretty good. The Steinberg UR22 has come in for some good rep for low noise pre amps but then the Focusrites are good too (if not such good VFM IMHO) . Just a pause for thought...Does the acronym "MIDI" mean anything to you? If not, any AI will suit.

Now, "gain" You don't need as much as you might think. The Beta 58A is in any case about 6dB more sensitive than the Bog 57/58 and you want your vocal levels to be at around -18, even -20dBFS* with peaks no higher than -8dBFS or so. This assumes you will record at 24bits and 44.1kHz and there is not good reason to do otherwise.

Once you have your takes "in the can" you can tweak the volumes to your hearts, add reverb, compress and EQ them, whatever. But get a clean, dry take at neg 18 first and SAVE it!

*Decibels Full Scale. Just part of the jargon you will need to learn.

Dave.

One of the most common problems for years seems to be "noisy weak preamps and Shure SM57/58".
As I found out the problem seems to happen on vocals and acoustics- softer noises.