Ascap (publisher application ) question

dkimcohn

I have friends that recorded an album in South America, and I want to market it in the U.S. what are some of the legal steps that I have to follow?
So people don't sort of "steal" and "abuse" the music created with hard work. ;)
So far investigating I've...

1)Download the publisher application from Ascap or BMI, (I noticed that BMI charges a fee, does ASCAP also?)(which one do you guys prefer)

2)Send the songs to copyright.

Also
***I went through with the Ascap publisher application, and in part # 6 it says:

6. I am applying for membership based on the following musical work or song published by my (our) company:

Title of ONE musical work or song: ________________
Songwriter(s)/ Composer(s):__________________

***OK what does it mean with "ONE" musical work or song, is the application for only one song?

Sorry if the question is irrevelant, I'm new to this and would like to know the aspects of the application before submitting it. I guess a lot of you music peepz have been through this. :o

Thanks

Do
Is there anything else I'm missing

In order to qualify as a Publisher, you have to have had at least one song that you (publishing company) have published in some form.

ASCAP is a performing rights organization that collects money for performances of your music, like radio or TV airplay - . Once the money is collected they pay the writers and publishers a royality. You will need to sign up as a writer as well.

A song that I've at least published before, meaning it that the song had to be either performed at a venue, or played on the radio, put on the internet, right?

Why is it that I have to register as a writer too? can you please explain me that ?

Thanks for your time

;)