Art Voice Channel.. What cable should I use to connect it to my Clarett+ 8Pre?

PikaGate

Hi everyone, I've purchased an ART Voice Channel and I need to connect it to my audio interface (Focurite Clarett+ 8pre)..
What cable should I use? An XLR cable? Or an ADAT cable? Or a TRS cable?

I'm sorry if it sounds like a stupid question, but I've never done it before.

I'm new to the forum. Thank you all :-)o_O

There are advantages to using the S/PDIF output. You don't use up any analogue inputs. Levels are set for you.
There is no chance of introducing a ground loop.
But of course you can try both.

Dave.

When you see a combo (XLR+1/4") jack labeld Mic/Line, you can probably assume that the 1/4" input assumes a LINE signal, so I would use a 1/4" TRS cable and go into one of those inputs on the back. But, of course, RTFM, and see what the Focusrite folks say. You will need to use the F'rite software app if you go S/PDIF or ADAT just to make sure the clock m/s is correct.

Ok, thank you very much!
I will run some experiments in the next few days and let you know if there are any issues, so you can give me an help :ROFLMAO:

Hello.. I connected the AKG 414 microphone to the balanced XLR input of the Art Voicechannel... The one at the back...
Then I connected the Art Voicechannel to the Clarett+ using a balanced TRS cable... Did I do it correctly?

I am attaching the photos..

Or should I have connected the microphone to the Clarett first and then the Clarett to the ART?

1683969941336.jpg

1683969941344.jpg

I think I'd use the XLR input on the front of the ART, but I don't know for sure what the difference is. Otherwise, that looks right.

Last edited:
Hi everyone, I've purchased an ART Voice Channel and I need to connect it to my audio interface (Focurite Clarett+ 8pre)..
What cable should I use? An XLR cable? Or an ADAT cable? Or a TRS cable?

I'm sorry if it sounds like a stupid question, but I've never done it before.

I'm new to the forum. Thank you all :-)o_O