Anyone use ART preamps?

nick6572

I 'm considering picking up another pre. Anyone out there have any experience with the ART TPS or the ART Tube MP Studio V3? I'm wondering if the preset reference points on these units are helpfull. I'm new at this. If anyone has any suggestions on a better unit in the same price range (under $200)I'd love to hear it.Thanks.

I have a Tube MP. Works pretty good. You get ehat you pay for. It's better than my Mackie's pre's.

You'll find that a lot of people here are not too keen on the ART pre's, except maybe as bass DI's. I haven't used them, but for "under $200" you have plenty of options which seem to be more favoured...
1) Studio Projects VTB-1 - Pretty well-regarded single channel pre with ability to use solid-state path or blend in tube signal path. $179 but about to drop to about $130 supposedly

2) M-audio audio buddy ($80) or DMP-3 (?$199) - Both good clean pre's, both 2 channel, DMP3 has VU meters.

3) Second hand mackie mixer (eg 1202 VLZ pro - if you get one cheap!)

Behringer tends to get a bashing here, but some options from them are:

4) Small Behringer mixers - various prices for various numbers of inputs/pres - also gives routing flexibility

5) Behringer MIC2200 - 2 channel tube pre with EQ $99

6) Behringer MIC100 (no-one seems to have laid hands on one of these yet) similar to tube MP but with limiter, and LED meter rather than VU - Lists for $49

Just a few suggestions
Steve

ART's quality control is quite lacking it seems. I'd go with something else for that reason. My ART Tube MP level LED does for example not flicker yellow until it's started nasty clipping, and it's SUPPOSED to be yellow well before clipping, and red while clipping.