Anyone tried DIY'ing cheap, clean mic-preamps?

SourIce

I'm curious to see how feasible it is. It'd be alot cheaper (obviously) if I could spring for a better interface with more inputs by using simple, clean DIY pre's - I also don't mean many of the expensive DIY kits to build boutique or vintage clones.

I remember reading an article somewhere that said for alot of the preamps on the market the parts are quite cheap, most of the research is making up the R&D costs, but it was light on actual information and useful schematics. My soddering skils are fine and I can follow a good schematic, but I'm no electrical engineer. I hoped that someone might have tried this already and be able to point me to useful information.

haven't tried this one, but it doesn't get much simpler or cheaper:

K1803: VELLEMAN INC.: Education & Hobby Kits

40dB isn't a lot of gain though, so you'd have to make up some of that gain on your interface. For US$15 and low part count, it can't hurt. I have a project 'in the works' but it isn't ready for prime time yet, and is unproven, so I'll post it when I'm done. Isn't really simple though, and involves some kludging.

You could probably get a decent older board (Tascam M30?) and use those pre's and direct outs though, for less than the "boutiquey" preamps. Not sure where you are located, but your market should support.

A lot depends on your skill level, and desire to really get into the weeds. There are plenty of projects at GroupDIY, which vary in "boutiqeuness" and the need to source exotic parts especially transformers. "Simple" generally doesn't enter into the equation. "Cheap" is relative, depending on your interface, this works out to about US$30 per preamp give or take.

Behringer: ULTRAGAIN PRO-8 DIGITAL ADA8000

I actually can't believe I never thought about investing in an old board. Thats a great idea and probably alot more cost effective :cool:

Are there any other similar older models I should be on the look out for?