Anyone know how I can make a studio with this?

mandrum

Hey there, I am very new to all this (recording) despite this I have been a keen as mustard muso since grasshopper size and more recently have collected a fair bit of sound equipment. The question is how can I link all this stuff together to get the best out of it, I suspect I need a sequencer of some kind at least, thanks!!

Stuff list - Desktop comp (P.C.) with 300G memory fitted with soundblaster x fi extreme music. B+W speakers,Roksan Kandy Amp + C.D. Project turntable, Bb Trumpet, Gibson GS Standard, 300 watt bass combo, P.A. Speakers, Berringer mixer amp(with built in mic pre amps and phantom p.) AKG D5, beyerdynamic TGX58 and Shure SM58 Mics - Boss G8 or so guitar effects proccesser, and access to other instruments such as bass guitar n stuff (though drums would have to be recorded else where) oh an also a sony md recorder, probably not worth mentioning.

Anyway how can I wire some of this stuff up and what else do I need to make quality home recordings, many thanks?:):)

what else do I need to make quality home recordings
Hello mandrum, and welcome. For starters, "quality" is a highly subjective term. A quality recording of shitty talent will still be recieved as shitty. A bad recording of GREAT talent, usually won't bother the listener, as TALENT is the one "quality" most listeners buy music for, not great "recording".

However, to answer your question is not easy. But I'll give it a shot.

First, is recording experience. A great "engineer" can get a quality recording from an SM-57 and a Porta Studio. However, an inexperienced "engineer" may still only achieve a marginally acceptable recording in a world class studio.

What I'm trying to say is owning the best equipment the audio world has to offer is no guarantee of a quality recording. However, the best advice I can offer is this.