Anyone Ever Used Musicians Friend For A Guitar Purch.?

7evin

I have recently been thinking of getting a new guitar from www.musiciansfriend.com . I was wondering if anyone has ever ordered from them and what the service and merchandise was like. I am a little worried about doing so, as I don't want my guitar in the hands of careless couriers. I have heard both good and bad about the benefits of online purchases yet have never experienced it for my self. Should I just go spend more at the music shop??

thanx

There is nothing like hands on. The more expensive the instrument, the more important it is to play and hold the instrument you will get. That is the main reason for buying from a store. You get spend a lot of time with the instrument. I have no experience with this, but others probably tell you that the different guitars of the same model from the same manufacturer will play and sound different, so if you play one in the store and then order from Musician's Friend, who's to say what the one that comes from the Web will be like?

I wanted a hard-to-find archtop (maybe a benefit of buying on the Web--you have access to hard-to-find stuff). I saw one in a store (Music Emporium, Arlington, MA. The next closest store was in Brooklyn, NY!), and it was at least $500 more than the guitar from web site (J Hale Music.com). I went to the store, prepared to ask them to make an accommodation so could buy the guitar there. Unfortunately, they were pretty busy that day, and a full half hour went by without someone coming by to even pull the instrument down from the wall. So I ordered from the Web. Big risk. Big savings. I had two days to learn all I could about the guitar. Within that two days, no-questions-asked return. I liked it. I kept it.