Anyone else prefer SD condensors for vocals?

randyfromde

I am pretty new to home recording, so I've been experimenting with all the equipment I own in different combos, instead of going with just the "traditional" uses of each mic.

I've found that I am completely backwards on my preferences. I bought 2 MK012's for recording acoustic guitar, but I prefer using a MXlV67 to record guitar parts. I bought the MXLV67 for vocals, but I prefer the MK012 or the Shure PG57 I have.

Anyone else like this?

My Neumann KSM184 sounds really good on vocals, and I have heard that Seal used it to record an album. Not hat a SD would be my first choice on vocals, but they are certainly useful.

A lot of good albums have been recorded using handheld dynamics.. real multi-million dollar albums. The real mark of a good engineer is that they throw out the common pre-conceptions about what's good for what and go with what actually sounds good.

I've definitely heard at least 2 or 3 vocalists who sound best with an SD condensor.

"Anyone else prefer SD condensors for vocals?"

No... most of the time I prefer LDC's or dynamic mic's.

"I've definitely heard at least 2 or 3 vocalists who sound best with an SD condensor."

I guess I am one of those guys! I guess it's just something about the clarity I am getting which I like. Based on my equipment so far, I think my voice works the best 6" from the MK-012 and using a pop screen. When I was in a studio, they used a Shure KSM32 which wasn't bad, maybe that'll be my next purchase for comparison purposes.

Well KSM32 is a mid-sized diaphragm, in between SD and LD. Although I haven't had too much luck singing into SD condensers, I use LD's for acoustic, mostly AKG C414B-ULS. I've also done some pretty good tracks singing into another mid-sized diaphragm mic, AKG C2000B.-Richie

Richard -