anybody own a peavey 6x10?

treymonfauntre

Magic Bag Of Sounds
found this on craigs list for $60! looks like an early 90s model maybe, totally generic classic peavey look to it. 6 10" speakers with nothing but some random numbers written on the back. only markings near the input jack is the serial number. no clue what model it is even!

i have no clue what impedance to run this at! i use a tube head with a switch on the back for 16 8 or 4 ohms, so i don't want to hook it up.

Most voltmeters have an ohm meter as well, just plug in a speaker cable then check ohm rating from positive (tip) to ground (sleeve). It will tell where to set the impedance.

thanks! so if a 6x10 is 4ohms what would each speaker be? it looks like its wired parallel but i'm still learning about this so i am probably wrong

six tens are short at 125 & under.

Remember that playin bass through 6 10's is going to be missing the serious deep hz sound-preasure stuff.
I should know--- yea it's a wimp. I'm on it with a 400 watt peavey top. -Needs a big sub-then it can roar above 250 hz....

you've got one? i'm waiting for tomorrow to see if i'm gonna use it for guitar or bass. i've been playing with a 2x15 for a while so i'm welcoming the change.

jjf323 said:
Remember that playin bass through 6 10's is going to be missing the serious deep hz sound-preasure stuff.
Maybe if it's guitar speakers that's true ...... but 10's are almost a standard in high end bass rigs nowadays. I use a 2-10 Gallien kruger on top of a 4-10 Ampeg SVT-HLF and it's got all the lows you could ask for. I use a 5-string too. The Ampeg cab is tuned for I think 45hz.

treymonfauntre said:
you've got one? i'm waiting for tomorrow to see if i'm gonna use it for guitar or bass. i've been playing with a 2x15 for a while so i'm welcoming the change.

I've got one; it's a guitar cabinet. I used to play a 50 watt Marshall through it and it sounded pretty good.