Any suggestions before I start buying?

psychokids

Hello,

I found this forum when looking into what type of computer setup I need to do some home recording. I have an amd 1800+ system, but it has my autocad/internet/electronics design software loaded so from what I've heard I might need a seperate system for tracking and editing. This is what I have come up with so far:

Delta 410 sound, another amd 1800+, 512 meg ram, a 9 gig scsi hd for the os and programs, and mid sized ide hd for the sound files (probably 80 gig). Most of it is tried and true by many people here, but I am a student on a budget so if anybody thinks im getting too much or too little in some area I'd greatly appreciate any suggestions. I'm especially concerned with if I'll get considerably better quality than just putting a delta 410 in the computer I have now and closing all the other apps when I'm doing audio work. Also, is it worth bothering with the scsi hd?

Thanks in advance,
-Chris

i dont think id go with the old hardrive, not for the os anyway i think id just go with a 120gig and leave it at that every thing else sounds good, you could prob. get a faster processor for a little more too. or if your really on a budget try the duron its not bad i had one that i overclocked to 1.5ghz from 1.3 i ran it a good while before i upgraded. to a athlon 2500+

I run a duel boot system, 2 hard drives. One is partitioned like so C: windoze and all the other office shite I have to use (main boot) D: another version of stripped down windoze, E: my music tracking software. That's all on the first drive. 2nd drive is solely for recording to (F:)

I'm running an AMD 1800XP on a gigabyte board with 512meg of PC2100 ram. Delta 1010 soundcard, Cubase 32 v5.1. Had 28+ tracks laden with plugin effects never peaking over 70% on the performance bar.

Thinking about getting a 410 to let me pull back 16 tracks to the desk for mix down.

Alec.