any MANDOLIN pickers out there?

the dude

I recently purchased a mandolin and was wondering how many people on here play. I have played guitar for 10 years and am finding it to be a pretty easy crossover with the exception of a few things here and there. I have been getting chord charts and lessons (scales and shit) from the internet and everything is coming along good. anyone have suggestions, tips etc. on how the become better??? let me know. thaNKS.

Spend as much time as you can hanging out with other mando players at jams and bluegrass festivals.

Listen to Sam Bush, John Duffy, Ricky Skaggs, Tim O'Brien, etc.

I'm a mandolin player. Played guitar for about 8 years before buying a mando. Dont really play it much, but its great fun when I do. I'm more into the classical style of playing..... ever watched captain corelli's mandolin? ..... that style.

Enjoy

I've been playing mandolin for about two years after a long stint with acoustic and electric guitars. I also dabble in banjo and dobro.

I found the transition relatively easy and I'm suprised that more people don't play. Maybe they're concerned with the small size of the instrument, the width inbetween the frets, or the fact that eight strings (all wound pretty tight!) can be a bit of work to change on a regular basis. It could also be that people associate mandolin with either folk/bluegrass or classical traditions (Other than Led Zepplin and REM, the mando doesn't appear that often). It's to bad becasue it's a fantastic lead acoustic instrument and a great tool for rythm, particularly panned opposited a strummed acoustic guitar.

I've found that the instrument is actually easier to play "fast" than a guitar. The only thing I've had trouble with are complex chords. I'm great with G,C,D etc. and I've recorded some decent stuff using two finger chords. But other chords can be trouble especially since my hands are large.

DWILLIS,