Antelope Isochrone OCX vs Apogee Big Ben

shAkEz_gk

I've read up on both, and what intrests me most, aside from the fact they're both reportedly great clocks, is the fact the Antelopes can sync into the World Clock.

Which would you choose for better performance?

If you really mean "world" clock... this holds no real value in a single studio environment... I would guess that "world" clock would let you share master clock duties across two synced devices at remote locations. Live feed...etc.

World clock is frequently used in the digital telephony world to sync multiple switchs and digital trunks where correct timing is critical

Just looked up the Antelope... the world clock feature seems kind of gimicky to me... yeah you can... but why would you...

Big Ben has more practical features...

but I've no hands-on experience with either...

So there you go...

For me personally, I'm far more interested in the Isochrone than the Big Ben. I've considered buying it, but at present am using the clock in my UA2192 as the master clock for my studio. When I do go for a dedicated master clock, the Isochrone will be it. The guy that designed it is the same fellow that did the AardSync for the now defunct AardVark. I had an AardSync II and it was an excellent clock.

As far as gimmicky, my take on that is the complete opposite. The Big Ben has tons and tons of add on features, while the Isochrone does one thing and just that one thing: stable clock. Not knocking the Big Ben at all, as a lot of people use it and like it, but for me the one and only issue in a master clock unit is the clock. Everything else is secondary.

Along those lines, I like that in the Isochrone the crystal is oven controlled. This is extremely important, and should make the clock extremely stable.

SonicAlbert said:
Along those lines, I like that in the Isochrone the crystal is oven controlled. This is extremely important, and should make the clock extremely stable.