Another solo piano

StarOcean27

Hello again, I decided to make a piano cover this time. It didn't go quite as expected but thought I'd post this up just to see what kind of feedback I could get. What do I need to improve on performance wise? How is the sound? What do you like, what do you not like? All feed are welcome as always. Thanks for taking a listen.

Piano cover

Last edited:
Not being a 'piano guy' myself, I can't really judge much other than the fact I like the tune. I used to be in a phase of listening to piano soloists for a while. Darren Isaacs early records when he was 15 enlightened me. I was probably 22 then.

Sounds like a great melody to me.

Thanks, I really appreciate that! As an piano player, I always have an idea of how things should sound for me, and as a producer I have an idea of how things should sound for everyone else listening. I started with the very basics when I was 12 but it goes a long way. Figuring what a piano needs can be a ballsy thing, a walking the line thing, or simply going with the same chords everyone is use to hearing. Generally I know how I want things to sound like but don't have enough experience to achieve my ideas or a good enough quality. So it can be very difficult. Sometimes I take break from the solo piano stuff and do some EDM as well. But I feel like I don't get far with the techno and trance stuff. And that's the thing, you just have to find where you're good at and run with that.

What piano are you actually using?

I liked the thrust of it but it didn't really sustain my interest the whole way through. I kept found myself adding extra melodic bits in my head towards the end - to make it a bit more dynamic and evolving.

If it's intended to host a vocal, it might work (IMHO) as it is, but seems to need something extra as a solo piece, for my money.;)