Another Newbie

Daveh666

Hi All, I had a look round the net and this place seemed to be "The One" to answer most of what I've needed to know so far. having had a good read I decided to join you all. I am a complete novice at recording, I did mess with an old Yamaha 4 track a few years ago, but was too busy to take it seriously. I built a large shed for my band to rehearse in a couple of years ago but no onger have the time to comit to a band so I am currently setting it up as a home Studio. I have recently purchased a boss BR800 and am just begining to get to grips with it, I've been using my old faithful Shure SM58 and also just the built in Condensors so, Next on the shopping list (i think) will be a large Condensor mic...anyway just wanted to say hello and introduce myself.
Cheers all
Dave

Welcome, Dave. Does the BR800 have phantom power? I use a BR600, which doesn't, so run my mics through the preamps of my Mackie mixer (which has phantom power), record to the Boss, then export the tracks to Reaper for mixing and processing. Some folks may wonder why use the Boss at all, but my computer is older, and has some issues, so this eliminates any latency/processor hangups.

Hi Mike, Thanks for the welcome. Yes, the BR800 does have phantom power, though only on one input. I did have a lot of people saying to me that I was wasting my time buying the Boss as i'd already got Cubase and should just use that on my PC, the truth is, I spend much of my working day in front of a monitor and the thought of my hobby taking a similar form didn't appeal to me much at all. I also wanted the portability of recording wherever and when ever I wanted to. I suppose now though I have both options available and will no doubt find my own prefs as I get further down the road. My main problem at the moment is choosing a decent "initial" mic for my work. I'm intending to record more Acoustic stuff (12 and 6 string) and vocals, but I'm stuck in the "which Mic" minefield at the moment.