Another Newbie Needs Help?!?!?!

BigBlueToe

I'm a musician who's been recording projects since the days of reel-to-reel and SimulSync. However, I'm thinking about jumping into recording on my computer and I feel like I'm back to being a complete know-nothing.

I have a Tascam 788 digital recorder which has a dedicated SCSI CDR drive. I recently hooked the CDR to the recorder while the CDR was turned on and I think I fried something. The 788 still works, but I get a System Failed message when I try to get it to recognize the CDR.

I need a new, working setup, and I'm thinking it's time to jump into recording with my computer. I want to start with something cheap and easy. I want to be able to transfer my tracks from the 788 to the computer so that I can record CDs. However, it would be nice to learn how to record on the computer so I can get more than 8 tracks.

I almost never use more than 2 mic inputs at a time, so I'm thinking about an interface with 2 XLR inputs with phantom power and maybe 2 more inputs for 1/4" plugs. I'm thinking Firewire is capable of transfering data faster than USB2, but maybe I'm wrong about that.

I do a lot with MIDI. I have Cakewalk ProAudio 9, a Midiman 4x4 USB interface, and several sound modules. Would I still be able to use these, or should I look for software that includes a sequencer and use that? Would I need something with 4 Midi ins and outs to be comparable with what I have now?

I have an old Gateway PC running Windows ME that I use strictly for the Cakewalk and all my midi gear. It has a Pentium 4, but it's really old. I also have XP installed on it, but when I was using XP it caused lots of issues.

I have a HP desktop with both 3gb of RAM, running Vista. It has 2 USB2 ports on the front and one Firewire.