And again: which speakers, how to set things up

7enderbender

Hello recording experts,

I know that this is a common question and, yes, I did a lot of reading on the subject here already and found many useful hints.

I am just starting with setting up a little recording area in our house in a small room that houses my home office/guitar gear/photo gear/microscope/golf clubs - you get the idea. My wife calls it "man town". There you go.

I am not a professional musician and make my livelihood in a different field but I do have high standards and have in fact recorded in professional studios in the past as a guitar player with my band several years ago. So I kind of know how things work generally and how pro gear sounds. I am however not expecting to produce professional recordings at home (hence HOMErecording) but look at this more like a way to collect ideas, play around, have some fun and personal satisfaction.

And I also want to keep cost under control to avoid spousal wrath (and I really need a new camera next year...) - you get the idea.

What I think I need next for my little work space are decent speakers. I want to use them to record and mix stuff but also to listen to music while I sit at my desk and work on other things. Ideally, I'd get two pairs, one HiFi pair (I like the little Paradigm Atoms) and a set of nearfield monitors. But that would be too expensive and eat up too much space.

So I am off the HiFi idea a little, especially since I have a nice HiFi setup in my living room already.

After reading a few things on nearfield monitors, I went out today to listen to some in the $100-$300 price range for the pair. On my shortlist were the JBL Control One and the Alesis Monitor One Mk 2, both on sale at various places at the moment. And passive. I figured, I may get mot bang for the buck, if I pay the same for passive speakers and recycle my old NAD Hifi amp instaed of paying for the speaker with build in amps (I may be wrong though).