Am I the only one who suffers from this embarrasing problem?

antispatula

Ok. I've been recording for a few years, and have played some form of music, whether it be piano, sax, guitar, etc nearly all my life. I love music. I love writting it and recording it. But there is one thing that always haunts me when I feel like recording a new song.

I hate laying down the first track..

It can take me FOREVER to lay down that first basic guitar or piano track alongside a click track for me. Its as if I cant keep a steady beat when I have nothing to play along with besides a click track. I always get off in the middle of the song and have to start over. I dread laying down that first track. Anyone else suffer from this too? What can I do to improve? After I have the first track layed down though, it is smooth runnings and love it.

Use a simple drum pattern, something that has an emphasis on the 1 or 3 or whatever is appropriate to the song. Make the pattern change for verses, choruses etc. It'll be much more natural to play to.

Use a simple drum pattern, something that has an emphasis on the 1 or 3 or whatever is appropriate to the song. Make the pattern change for verses, choruses etc. It'll be much more natural to play to.

+1 - playing to a straight click can be a bit soulless... liven it up a bit by doing a more complex "click" via a drum machine... makes a big difference, trust me.

Yeah completely agree with you OP. But what is even harder is turning on my software, setting up microphones, checking levels, and turnig on my preamp.

So I'm long gone by the time it's time to lay down any track

thanks guys. Can anyone recomend me a good free drum machine or step sequencer vst?

another question. I have this piano song that just doesnt seem to work on a constant beat. The chorus is slightly faster than the verses, by about 10 bpm. Is this normal, or should I just try and make it constant all the way through?