Am I starting out in the right direction?

Andrew Keeble

https://soundcloud.com/andyramone/skippin-blues

Right, complete newbie to all this, been trying to spend a little money on a little cheap gear over the last few months so I can finally record a few basic demos.

So, with my ultra cheap basic set up, I thought I'd post a really quick song I threw together a little while ago, just to see if you chaps think I'm going in the right direction?

The drums are loops from DrumWerks, it's all I could afford, and is OK for a basic backing track. Using Garageband for recording and mixing as it didn't cost me anything.

Everything else is me, acoustic guitar recorded through a Behrigner C1 and preamp, and bass through a Line 6 POD.

I haven't done a huge amount messing with anything, just a light EQ on the acoustic, and some compression on the drum samples.

I'm having problems getting the drums to sit in the mix. I know this is an inherant problem with pre recorded samples, but does anyone have any tips for using these kinds of samples in a mix?

Anyway, any thoughts, advice would be gratefully received.

The guitar and bass are well played and sound pretty much done. I'd say work on your drum patterns as they are in my mind not always on the beat (second half) and the rolls are kind of all over the place. There's a big volume difference on the two drum parts. I'm not sure about that....

The guitar and bass are well played and sound pretty much done. I'd say work on your drum patterns as they are in my mind not always on the beat (second half) and the rolls are kind of all over the place. There's a big volume difference on the two drum parts. I'm not sure about that....

Thanks for the input.

This is the problem with the drums. I haven't sequenced them, they are pre recorded from 100% Pure Drum Loops and Drum Samples from Beta Monkey Music.