am I mixing / mastering at vol levels too high for critical listening?

visa

i mix at pretty high vol levels.

my mixes/masters always turn out to be very bass heavy and are pretty much unleistenable.

we recorded a song two days ago that sounded FANTASTIC at the practice space. i haven't listened on another system so far but today the drummer calls me to tell me that the mix is unlistenable on his stereo at home.

just a few seconds it came to my mind that i might be mixing at a volume that is too high for crticital listening. is that even possible?

i've been mixing my own stuff for seven years and it's always been like that...the mixes are bass heavy as fuck.

whats the recommended volume for mixing?

I think the best volume is that which suits your ears, anyways how do you want us to describe volume?

BTW what are your monitors?

high and low frequencies get more accentuated to the human ear as things get louder. this means that if you monitor really loud, you're going to end up with mixes that sound as if they have the "smiley face" EQ thing going on

many people monitor around 85-87db, because studies have suggested that human ears have the "flattest" response at that volume range

personally, i usually monitor so that the music is just loud enough so that i can't clearly hear what someone else is saying from across the room. works wonders when you're getting that "turn up this and that!" bullshit from the band.

I only have headphones (for now) but I always mix rather soft, as I heard that's a way to make "louder" mixes and is also much better for your ears. You'll want to turn it up later to make sure your bass isn't overbearing.

Read up on the Fletcher-Munson curve. But besides all of that, decent monitors and a treated room are critical to mixing. And beyond that is "learning" your room and monitors. It's a skill like learning to play an instrument. It takes time and not everyone is good at it.