• No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No (AT4060 is good tho)

• No (Rode K2 is good tho)

• Total voters

kkh961216

Hi guys! I just registered, and it's my first time here, so again, hi!

I've recently had my parents grant me 2k for home recording setup (mostly for me, but for them as well). That's a lot of money for a 15 year old to manage, but my parents aren't too good with these kinda stuff so I went and researched, and ended up with the following. Are they a good choice? Or any other recommendations that will suit the allocated money? My biggest worries are with the "AT4060 or Rode K2?" and "is that package good enough?". I think the audio interface is well chosen.

AMS Deluxe Recording Support Package
Tascam Neo 2488 Audio Interface
Rode K2 or AT4060

It won't let me post links, but they can be found at americanmusical (com)
I will be recording vocals. (pretty high tenor)
Would there be any other AI better for a cheaper price?

If all of the above are poorly chosen, what would you recommend?

Do you have a computer?
If so an interface would be better than the Neo in my opinion. Especially if youre just starting. Leaves you flexible and leaves a lot of your budget open.

Do some reading before buying anything - read the sticky-ed threads at the top of this section of the forum. The Tascam is not an interface, its a stand-alone recorder. The 'recording package' - those monitor speakers are probably not all that great - is likely not much of a deal. You can find mic stands, pop filters and cables on sale everywhere for low prices.
How many mics do you need - what are you recording and how many tracks to you want to record simultaneously?

Hi! Thanks for the replies! Now I'm confused- Tascam's not a AI? in that case, any recommendations?
And I only need one mic for myself (vocals), and I'm stuck between 4060 and K2. For tracks, I guess around 8 or a bit more...