Alesis MasterControl questions

dogn4u

I have an Alesis MasterControl firewire interface/controller on the way and I have a couple of questions. I plan to stick with SONAR, which I haven't used in some time. This is on my Sweetwater Creation Station PC, BTW, with dual core 2.66 GHz processor running Windows XP. Will I have to upgrade to SONAR 8 (or 8.5) to use the MasterControl? I'd prefer to stick with SONAR 7, as it has nicely covered all my needs in the past and I'm used to it and comfortable with it.

The Creation Station is basically just a PC that has been stripped of extraneous software and limits programs that "run in the background" and can cause crashes, usually during that one perfect take. It's also housed in a nice quiet damped and insulated case, to minimize noise bleeding through mikes, etc.

I've had mine for 2-3 years and think it was worth the few extra hundred over a Dell or whatever with the same performance specs - partly for the tuning to optimize it for DAW work, and partly because Sweetwater has some of the best customer service I've come across. Been dealing with the same rep for almost 10 years now...so they obviously keep their employees happy, and a happy employee will do a better job, simple as that.

So the CS ships with two drives: in my machine there is a 250GB Seagate 5400RPM for the programs and a 500GB Seagate for audio running at 7200. However, I also have a Glyph 500Gb firewire connected external rack-mounted HD. Any recommends on which would be better to use: internal or external? Seems to me that while firewire connections are indeed fast, an internal drive connected directly to the mobo would be even faster. Thoughts?
Thanks,
Rudi

Good choice on the Mastercontrol! I've had mine for about 2 years now and I like this thing better everyday.