Advice on a decent drum machine for older music genres?

samurai

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum so just saying hi!

Maybe some of you guys can help me with a problem I have regarding "drums"!
A little about my background first....

I was a solo professional singer / guitarist for 13 years...I certainly didn't do too badly out of it and had great time in the process.

I eventually retired from the road in the early 80's as I was by then married with two young kids and living out of a suitcase and touring for up to 40 weeks per year while great when you're single, isn't good when you've got dependents so I retired, sold most of my gear and never picked up my axe again until last year so that I wasn't ever tempted back onto the road again.

Anyway last year I dug the old guitar out of the loft and bought a s/h Line 6 Spider 3 modelling amp for a bit of domestic fun and now want to do a bit of home recording on computer.
I still have my old Gibbo guitar, a decent old bass guitar and a small Marshall bass amp...I also picked up a decent keyboard to add a bit of variation plus my old pro Sure mic and a good echo unit so really the only things I'm short of are a decent little audio interface/mixer ( which I think I've got covered) and what I really need is a decent drum machine to suit the stuff I want to record.

The genres I'm most interested in are Country-Rock, Status Quo style rock, Reggae and Latino rhythms.

I know I'm a bit of an 'oldie' and a bit out of touch and probably it's asking a lot but can any of you guys suggest a decent drum machine that will give a reasonably 'authentic' drum sound for the genres I want to record rather than the usual modern electronic sounding versions around these days which is not really what I'm looking for!
I could purchase a full drum kit but they take up too much room and I'd need a fair bit of practice to get up a reasonable standard so that's out!:)