advice needed regarding production

amyelizabeth

So I am new to songwriting and singing. I started a few months ago with a great vocal coach, who has produced some of her own music, which was really good, but in MIDI. I recently wrote 14 songs and of them,, I'd say 4 of them are spot-on. One of them in particular is a favorite of my coach's and she asked to help me produce it. Since I'm so new at all of this, i thought it would be great to learn from her some of her tricks, so i thought that I'd be happy to have her input/help. So I guess I am confused about how point/credits go.... If she produces the instrumental sounds (outside the piano, since i wrote it on the piano)....would she deserve a production credit if I send this off to a publishing company? Also, she mentioned something about selling my songs off to other people. What is that all about? Sorry, for the 2 questions, but I really am such a newbie to this all. Your help is appreciated.

I will want to record my stuff in real sounds, btw. Her equipment is in MIDI mostly, but I am open to doing this, if it will be a learning experience.

Production and points usually relate to the recording of the song on an album or whatever, where producers organise a commission structure on sales as a means of payment, usually in addition to a fee.

You sound like you're still at songwriting stage - you have a song and from what I'm reading, your coach wants to help you with arrangements etc - playing other instruments etc. for some type of demo?

Or do you actually have "proper" recording sessions organised?

By all means accept help with the arrangement, instrumentation, playing etc. and acknowledge it - whether than means a co-writing credit on a song or not depends upon you.... normally not, would be my HO.