Advice for a beginner?

.Tyson Studios.

I LOST THE GAME
Hey everyone. I'm a drummer and I have some recording equipment on the way. I own a crappy 'sg special' that I bought for 20$. I also have a small 15 watt peavey. I have been in a few bands and would like to learn some guitar. I have tried making something up on it, which i can (it will sound pretty good, too) but i just can't play it at a regular speed without screwing up. I would really like to get to the point where I can make a guitar rythem and play it. I have practiced a few differant things but everytime i play it im too slow switching chords or my fingers are at the wrong place. I need some advice to how I should improve. I would take guitar lessons but my schedule is CRAZY. Thanks in advance! :)

Get a metronome, start practicing at about 1/2 speed, and gradually work your way up to normal speed. Pay particular attention to doing everything in time, no slow-downs to change chords. When you can do that at 1/2 speed, bump it up a bit and get it perfect at a slightly faster tempo. Don't play it any faster than you can play it perfectly.

Picking up a new instrument isn't something you can do overnight, so have some patience, practice daily, be disciplined, and it'll pay dividends later.

Practice practice practice. At least 3 times a week, at least an hour at a time. Play until your fingertips hurt. Get a 'teach yourself guitar' book - it may have types of music and playing styles you are not interested in, but the basics are what is needed to improve.

If you cant play it perfect slow, you'll never play it perfect fast. Another way of saying it is Don't practice mistakes.

My other best tip is don't neglect your little finger. All those three-finger guitarists out there would be a lot better if they would use all four fingers.