Adding a drum beat

pklost

I am very new to home studio recording. I use Sonar. I want to lay down a basic drum track first then write my other instruments over top. I don't understand the drum map manager. I just want a basic kick snare high hat beat. Any suggestions?

The Drum Map manager just basically lets you tweak a note-drumsound mapping that a MIDI synth uses. Let's say for example that you record a MIDI drum part and you use a GM (General MIDI) keyboard drum patch to produce the drum sounds and everything's sounding cool. :cool: But say that you decide later that those drums don't really sound quite right, so you're going to try out a softsynth or soundfont or some other MIDI synth where those MIDI notes don't produce the same hits. (snare hit on the original is now sounding as a cowbell and stuff like that - could be just a few notes are off, could be a bunch) So, instead of going through and moving all your MIDI notes, you could just load up (or create) your MIDI-synth-#2 drum map and send the Out of your track to it.

That's one use for it. It helps with other stuff too, like it shows you the drumhit name in the Piano Roll view. Also, say you are just going to be using a basic kit's hits, not the extra stuff like bongos and whistles and all that crap, then you can make a Drum Map with just those notes defined, so then when you go into the Piano Roll view, you'll just see those.