Adam A7 Monitors are a Rip Off

mandrum

Ok, I have just bought into all the stuff on the adam a7 power monitors which if you you want to find bad reviews these days its easy for these they were almost impossible to find even then, minor quibbles. Ok, whats my quibble?
Every time i mix on these and it sounds fairly balanced not bass heavy(with computer), quite light actually, I then try the recording out on my hi fi system and what I get is quite different. My system is very good quality and uses b&w 604s speakers (which are a bit bass heavy i find). However match my recordings done with the adam's up to any industry standard, you will find mine are silly, bass mud fever!!!
Now before anyone crits the recordings, yeah ok I am no mutt lang, however I do know simple balance( i am a semi pro conductor/musical director). And dont try to tell me about bass woofers, i have spent enough already for a home studio. Just wish i had bought something which were more realistic. Isnt there another way to help with what i've got though, so that the recordings i mix can be more realistic as i mix?

Every time i mix on these and it sounds fairly balanced not bass heavy(with computer), quite light actually, I then try the recording out on my hi fi system and what I get is quite different.
That's how the world turns, friend. Welcome to the art, science and frustration of audio production and why any salesperson who tells you that all you need is gear to be the next Mutt Lang should have his tongue cut out for making a living by being a liar.

Especially if you don't have the room in which you place those A7s set up properly. Nowhere do you mention room dimensions, the use of bass traps or mix and monitor positioning.

Check out this article on basic mixing room setup for more on getting your bass to stop fooling you.