Acoustics in bedroom

Bass40

Hey, Im new to acoustics so Im not so sure on how to place it and which sizes and etc of foam to buy. So while searching on google to learn more about it , I also decided to ask HomeRecording. Basically this is a bedroom in my house that I cant " soundproof " knock down and add walls to. So Im going to add acoustic treatment to it for better mixing purposes. Below is the link to an image I made in photoshop basically outlining the room and it has the room measurements. I hope that helps. Because im not sure how much foam to buy to cover the room so that the acoustics is effect.

http://www.aronlex.com/images/display.jpg

^ Thats the image I made in photoshop. Will actually pictures help more?

I may be wrong, Bass, but I don't think anyone here is going to recommend treating your room with foam. I suggest that you run a search in this forum on the words "rigid fiberglass." Also read this Web page carefully: http://www.ethanwiner.com/acoustics.html.

Panels made of rigid fiberglass will give you a lot more bang for your buck than foam. There are many people in this forum who've made their own panels, including me, so there's plenty of useful info here. In fact, if you can wait another two or three days, I should posting a series of pictures here showing how I made my panels. That could be especially useful to you since your bedroom is almost a mirror image of my studio.

By the way, are you converting the bedroom to a studio, or is it going to continue to serve as a bedroom, too? Also, it would help us advise you if you added furniture and equipment to your drawing.

Hey thanks for replying. Im interested in making the rigid fiberglass after this post im going to search for forum on information on it.

I updated the image at the top. It has the furniture in it, which contains a bed , a desk w/monitors and keyboard/drumachines. But all that can be moved into a better area of the forum if needed for the treament.

Thanks

Bass40 said: