Absolute beginners?

mjmooney

Hi everybody - I'm Mike, and new to the board.

I suspect that I may be in a slightly different situation to many of you... I'm 54 years old, and just returning to playing in a band after something like a twenty-year layoff!

Back in the day, I was a singer/guitarist in a five piece rock band (2 gtrs, keys, bass, drums), and I'm slightly ashamed to say I took no interest at all in the technical setup - I just used to turn up to the gig or recording session, plug in and play; the bass player owned, set up and operated everything else, and I was happy to let him do it.

Now I find myself working with two younger guys (gtr/keys & bass - drummer to follow!) who want to get a band off the ground, but have zero experience themselves. We have guitars and amps, a (crappy) keyboard and a laptop, but don't know where to begin.

What I'm after is a crash course in what we need in order to do two things:

(1) Do some basic home recording - this is for two purposes:

(a) rehearsal "listen back"
(b) songwriting

(Note that we're NOT talking about producing "release quality" demos or anything of the sort at this stage).

(2) Establish a basic gigging set up (with the facility to do live recordings, again, purely for our own "reference" purposes) - this will only be for very small venues in the first instance, but we have to assume they won't always have a house PA available.

Hopefully, the same equipment (mixers, mikes, monitors, recorders, etc.) will be able to do duty for both purposes.

I've been scouring the web (and bookshops) for this information, but it's surprisingly hard to come by - the emphasis seems to be EITHER on setting up a semi-permanent home studio OR on "big hall" pro gigging set-ups.

What I could do with is a basic "circuit diagram" of the minimal set of equipment, either on stage, or for recording/rehearsing "in the bedroom", with a suggested minumal "shopping" list of entry-level equipment.