A vocal revelation, I think?

badgas

I'm in the middle of recording some of my stuff.
Shortly I'll be adding some vocals.

I've never sang in a band before, only around the house or when I'm drunk or something. Of course, everyone says I have a good/endearing/unique/etc voice.

In other words, they don't want to tell me I sound like I'm farting in a bucket.

I know I'm not anygood at it.

Till now.
~ blinks ~
Almost.

Again, I'm no singer. I've had no experience at it. I've never paid that much attention to the vocal going's on. But, it's music. I've been playing guitar around forty years and just figured something out about vocals. I think.

I'd like someone's opinion on this. I know it works on a guitar, but I haven't recorded my vocals yet to see what it sounds like.

Here's what I did.

Everyone has some favorite keys to play/sing in. Mine are Gb, G, Ab, A, Bb, Db. Hell, don't ask me why.
When I write a song, it's in one of those keys. But, when I try to sing, I sound like a finch caught in a cats claw or like I'm grunting in pain realy bad.

Anyway, I am working on a song, Woolton Church. I wrote it in G. It's entirely to high for me. A lower octave it too low. See, I have this really unique voice.
I was about to change the key, when I thought, Hmmm '!'

I left the song in G, and changed the mode of the vocals.
If ya don't know what I'm talking about, well, I'm sorry.
If ya do know what I'm talking about, Is this a correct way to tweak vocals? Like I'm playing in G, and have my vocals in a Phrygian or Dorian scale.

Am I out in left field here, or am I on or close a the right track.
Anyone know, I'd appreciate some input.
Thanks.

What a waste of a night this has been.
After I posted that up there, I recorded my self in a few other scales.

Haaa...
I sounded terrible. That idea must not work with my unique voice.
I ended up switching keys. Sounded better.

Need a better mic that that $400 mic I have though. It makes me sound bad.