A sad engineering story, any words of encouragement welcomed.

shortyc

Hello All,

Back in 2000 I graduated with a degree in engineering. But, I could not afford to keep interning at places and when I couldn't find a real job in engineering I had to route to working a job that pays even if it had nothing to do with music.

Anyways, it's been years and no mixing done. Not a bit. Now all of a sudden this group that I support wants me to mix 18 songs in the next 2 weeks because their regular engineer is out of town working somewhere. And this group is important to me, they are part a great movement and something is big is about to happen for them.

I've always had these tannoy active monitors at my house so they just dropped off digi 002 and a G4 laptop and let me have at it.

At first I was excited, but now I'm depressed about it! #1, my ears always seemed clogged these days. #2, I'm not used to these monitors, I have no room to place them different ways except practically in my face on this tiny desk with the laptop on it. #3, It's pro tools with only the basic eq and compression, and d-verb.
#4, Most the songs were recorded hot, the instrumentals were not mixed well but are already consolidated, everything is crazy unorganized and is just a nightmare.

Advice, tips, encouragement, whatever. If you got it, please share! Although I don't consider myself an engineer anymore, I still have the heart and culture of one and I feel like I'm gonna die. help!