A newbie's Sonar questions

Grotius

I am pretty new to computer recording, but I am slowly getting the hang of Sonar 2.0, which I bought a few days ago. I have some questions, however. I have an Athlon 900, 512M RAM, 120G 7200 rpm HD, WinXP, SB Live Value:

1. I've just started using the demo version of Live Synth Pro, which seems like a MUCH easier way to use SoundFonts than the alternative -- attaching SoundFonts. I'll probably buy the full version of LSP. My question is this: is it preferable to route all the MIDI tracks to 1 or 2 audio Live Synth Pro tracks, or instead to assign a separate audio track for each MIDI track? (I'm working on a piano concerto, which requires at least a dozen MIDI tracks, plus my live audio piano performance.) Is the idea to group tracks together if you expect to give them similar effects or panning?

2. How do I tell precisely how much latency I am getting? Is it the info by the slider in Options | Audio | General? That latency slider allows me to adjust latency, but does it also report latency? When I first had my soundcard profiled, Sonar set this slider to 100 ms, which obviously makes for rather slow DXi performance. Does that mean I "have" 100ms latency? I've changed the slider myself, but I start getting dropouts when I go below 20ms. Does that mean I "have" 20ms latency?

3. Like many others, I am finding that Sonar treats my SB Live as a mono device. I'm using the Nov 2001 drivers, which apparently suck. I tried installing a driver off my XP disk, but it seems to have installed the exact same driver. Any suggestions?

4. One possibility, of course, is to buy a better audio card. Are there cards that work particularly well (or badly) with Sonar?

5. I also have a question about the demo of Fruity Loops, which seems like an extremely cool program. Does FL generate only audio loops, or also MIDI? Also, I could only make a 1-measure long loop; I assume one can change that somehow? (On this