a little dilemma here

bluelonestar

Please read this, my band needs help...I'm not a newbie, I am familiar with this site which helped me build my first project studio. I used to own an aardvark q10 and a bunch of other great gear to record on, but I eventually sold it all on ebay. When I formed my current band I just figured we'd use a "real" recording studio, naive right? So after doing that a couple of times I realize how costly it is and how much I wish I hadn't sold all my equipment!

Anyway, I need to finish our cd we started in a professional studio on my PC. We've been sitting on it for THREE MONTHS now! We are a rock-trio. We have all the drums, bass, and guitar tracks finished. The engineer who recorded us recorded the drums on 2" analog tape, which sound nice! They were then transferred to a hard drive in 24 bit/48khz quality. The bass and guitars were recorded through the analog tape machine to the digital domain. He uses an Alesis 24 track hard disk recorder to control the rest of the tracking. I don't know what mixer he has or preamps he used. I was too busy trying to get good takes to notice!

All I need to do now is record the vocals and mix it....easy right? So I had him transfer all our tracks (9 songs) to DVD-R. They all fit on 2 discs. They sound great...I'm using Vegas and Sound Forge.