A Good Monitoring Amp!?

Gearless42

I am getting sick of alesis amps!
My monitor speakers are great(Yamaha NS-10's)
But I can't find an amp that compliment them really well! Any ideas? I don't need a big one because NS-10's are only 25watts RMS/ 50 max

hi, i'm thinking of setting up my PC to do recording as well and i'm getting a set of used NS-10M. i'm still new to this and i'm wondering.... are NS-10Ms any good?

on top of that, someone recommended the NAD320 amp. would the NS-10 and the NAD make a good pair?

thanks very much for your help!
-biscuit

I'm in the process of rebuilding some NS-500's right now. The *tiny* amount of information I got from dejanews and elsewhere was that:

NS-10's are pretty harsh. Poor lows and really fatiguing. BUT, they were so widely used that people are comfortable with them. Kinda like the SM-57...not the greatest mic in the world...but a standard that produces adequate, predictable results.

I also read that some guys prefered the NS-500's which are no longer made (early 80's, late 70's)...which is why I snapped em up at a pawn shop for $35! Ha. Course they'll cost me $150 to repair.

But that's not really relavent. What's your price range? I'm sure that someone can give you more options if you name your price.

Slackmaster 2000

The NS-10's full name is NS-10M (the M stands for monitor) some people say that they are "harsh", other people say that they are really "bad sounding" the truth of the matter is that they are the most accurate "flat" studio near field monitor to date! The bad or harsh sound that people speak of is actually how the music "really" sounds without any coloration.

So get a pair, get use to them (they DO take getting use to) and then if it sounds good on the NS-10's (NS-10M's) it will sound incredible on anything else!

Best Best Best Best!