a few of my songs... opinions/advice wanted!

deathofamind

I'm sorta hesitant to post this, because I'm still kinda new at this stuff... but here goes. I've been playing guitar for about two years now, and this is what I've been able to come up with so far... it's like an EP I guess.

http://www.suicidekiss.org/noah/music/

I'm just a one-man band recording in my bedroom, but I'm really into it. So I'm looking for opinions and advice! Do I suck? How's my songwriting? My guitar playing? My recording and mixing?

Obviously I know I'm not exactly a pro, but I guess what I'm really looking to find out is what I'm doing right, and what I'm doing wrong. I'd really appreciate any comments. If you're only going to download one song, then track 5 is probably the one that best demonstrates my style. But go ahead and download more of them if you have the time! :)

Thanks!

I tried #5. The bass and guitars are so out of tune, I had to shut it off. Sorry, but the first thing you have to do when you are recording is tune the instruments or the rest of your time is wasted. My ears are sensitive to pitch and the out of tune instruments drive me crazy. Not trying to be mean, just honest.

Speaking of, its a good idea to post one song here, not a whole album. That way, the people who listen can concentrate on the issues regarding the one song. Just a suggestion.

Well thanks for the reply... heh. I realize now that some of my recordings are out of tune. These are all from a few months ago, when my ears weren't as sensitive I guess. But I'm starting to notice it. It doesn't bother me to the point where I have to turn it off though. :)

Thanks for the constructive criticism though... that's exactly what I'm looking for. And about the "one mp3" thing... that's why I chose one track to recommend. :p But maybe you're right about that too.