A couple of mic preamp questions for you whizzes

boechler

Hi,
Relative newbie here. I am looking at purchasing a Toft AFC-2 preamp/equalizer and an RNC. This purchase is to upgrade an ART TPS preamp I have been using with my Yamaha AW16G recorder. The AFC-2 contains the same preamp as the ATC-2 which I am also considering. From what I am reading the equalizer on the AFC-2 might be more what I am looking for than the one on the ATC-2 and the RNC compressor may be closer to what I am looking for than the compressor on the ATC-2. I can also get the AFC-2/RNC combination for a few hundred less than the ATC-2. Now for my questions.
1. Is there any reason I may be missing to buy the ATC-2 over the AFC-2/RNC combination? Any known incompatibilies?
2. How important is it to have meters on the preamp? The AFC-2 does not have any meters and the ATC-2 does.
3. Obviously my hope is to improve the sound. Am I watering down the sound improvement gains by running the higher quality Toft preamp into the presumably lower quality preamps on the AW16G? If the inputs on the 16G are at the minimum level will they still influence the signal from the external preamp?
Thanks for all the useful information on this forum and I hope someone is able to steer me right here. By the way, I am unable to listen to any of the above mentioned equipment without first purchasing. Brian.

From reading reviews and comments on the 'net, the ATC-2 is good in that -

It has preamps that are pretty good. I wouldn't sweat the difference in pres unless you're taking on very high profile clients - the Toft ones should be capable of a lot. 60 dB overall gain should be good with a number of mics, but how it works when it's pinned is always a concern. I don't know from first hand experience.

The EQ is supposed to be excellent and very musical. Probably the main attraction. I have no idea if the EQ section of the AFC-2 will be similar or not. Probably.