A computer, an interface, and some recording software walk into a bar together....

Bob F.

(....hopefully someday I'll have a punchline to that joke, and not actually BE the punchline myself....hopefully....)

Hello, my name is Bob, and this is my story....

I've been recording with a Roland VS-1880 for about 10 years, and I'd like to modernize my set-up a little bit by making the move to PC-or Mac-based recording. I have a budget that can go as high as $4k, but I'd like to stay under $3.5K.

It's basically from the ground up; I'd like to get a dedicated PC or Mac, an interface/control surface, and then....

What?

For all practical purposes, I have no experience with recording software or digital interfaces, or even a Mac, for that matter. I've never mixed with a mouse/keyboard, so I think I'd prefer faders (right?). I'm pretty sure I can make the connections necessary to get sound recorded, but, if possible, I'd like to get some opinions here as to what you might do with that kind of budget. What would you buy based on your personal experience, and why?

1. Mac or PC (though I'll probably get a laptop, portability is not necessarily an issue)
  2. Interface/Controller (min of 4 xlr ins, prefer 8)
  3. Recording Software (Pro Tools? Okay....why Pro Tools?)
  4. A drum program that sounds closer to real drums than a Yamaha Motif (which is what I use now)

What is the best allocation of my budget regarding hardware and software? I imagine hardware is key, but at some point, I'd like balance, and I'd I'd like compatibility; make sure the hardware works optimally well with the software, and that plug-ins work well with the software.

So, there ya go. Are these dumb questions? Sorry am I!

<lenny> tell me 'bout the sample rates, George, tell me 'bout the sample rates again!</lenny>

I don't get all the scientific stuff so quick....just so you know.

Thank you in advance!

(and I hope I'm asking in the right place :o )

MacBook Pro 15" i7 with 4gb of ram.