A balance of expense and quality.

joe mama

Hi.

I am not that experienced at recording drums. I have never recorded drums in what I would call a "decent quality", but I really want to. Basically what I am asking in this post is:

1) What are my alternatives when it comes to recording drums (ie - what types of mics should I buy?) (condenser, vocal, drum mics?)

2) What are the price ranges for the above options?

3) What type of mixing should I apply to get an "alt rock" sound (say, Brand New, The Bravery, or maybe even The Arcade Fire)

Also, I am using an old DW set. The bass drum is 24" and the toms are 12" and 14". The bass drum is muffled with a blanket and the toms with a self-adhesive foam material that goes on the inside of the drum (and I really like the sound it makes). I think I've covered all the bases here. If not, just ask and I'll tell you everything you need to know.

Thanks a lot guys!

Well two condensers for overheads, bass mic and a dynamic mic. I can't suggest any overheads but I'm sure someone else will. For kick probably a shure beta52, or something along those lines, and snare SM57. The over heads will pick up the rest of the drums/cymbals. Big bass drum u have, lol.

pandamonk said:
Well two condensers for overheads, bass mic and a dynamic mic......Big bass drum u have, lol.

What would the dyamic mic be used for? Miking the snare possibly? I really don't know for sure, but I'm guessing that's it.

Also: yes, I have a massive bass drum, haha. This set was defintely not built for playing the type of music I like to play. I'm gonna guess it was meant for R&B or something with equal "boom" needs.

Yes, dynamic for snare.

You could look at getting 2 mxl603's, a beta52, and an sm57 for some pretty good quality drum recordings. It's all about placement, room sound, and drum tuning though.

spitfire909x said:
It's all about placement, room sound, and drum tuning though.

Pay close attention to Spifire's comment here...